Along with the Head Teacher, the Governing body are the strategic leaders of our school and have a vital role to play in making sure every child gets the best possible education. This is reflected in the law, which states that the purpose of maintained school governing bodies is to ‘conduct the school with a view to promoting high standards of educational achievement at the school’.

The Governing body has a strong focus on three core strategic functions:

Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

Holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and

Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The Governing Body, listed below, consists of a range of governors from the local community and the school.

Chair of Governors:

  • Councillor Keith Wood

Vice Chair of Governors:

  • Mrs Nicola Rogerson

Head Teacher:

  • Mr Mustafaa Malik

Local Authority Governor:

  • Councillor Keith Wood

Parent Governors:

  • Ms Leanne Pearce


  • Mrs Nicola Rogerson
  • Mrs Helen Jarvis
  • Ms Helen Campbell
  • Mrs Denise Hewett
  • Councillor John McElroy
  • Mr David Scott
  • Ms Gillian Wood
  • Mr Andrew Carr
  • Mrs Alicia Hallett
  • Mrs Helen Gifford

Staff Governors:

  • Mrs Clare Jennings

Associate Member:

  • Mrs Suzanne Chapman

Clerk to the Governing Body:

  • Mrs Debra Robinson

As well as attending full Governing Body meetings, governors will become a ember of a specific committee to support focused work across school provision.  The document below provides information about the terms of reference for the two main committees (Resources and Curriculum & Standards) along with other relevant aspects..

Terms of Reference for committees – September 2022

The tables which can be downloaded below detail further information relating to the constitution of the Governing Body as well as attendance at meetings.